I Woke this Morning

I woke up this morning to a new America

a place that I never knew existed

a place full of anger and fear,

people marching in the streets

people being beaten for who they are

the cries of the innocent seeking justice

faces contorted in anger, fingers pointing.

My own heart feels heavy

I cannot fathom how we got here,

how these people all free in America

could become so mean to one another

in this place where I can speak freely

worship the God of love in peace.

Yet we watch as the gods of greed and power

of fear and wealth crucify once more

the one who came offering the kingdom

to the poor, the neglected, to us all

One thought on “I Woke this Morning

Leave a Reply

