Cup of Tea on a Rainy Day

Outside a cold rain falls

I hear passing cars whoosh

as they rush down the street

splashing through puddles

ignoring the people walking

inside I am warm and taking tea

trying to write some poetry

what comes to mind

is the tea that I drink

it is warm and comforting

but I’m not a tea guru

I don’t drink it everyday

I don’t know my Earl Gray

from my Darjeeling 

even if they were on hand

I just pull out the tea bag

pour boiling water

and wait a few minutes

while I watch as the tea steeps

and the water transforms

from clear to a rusty red

as the tea bag floats along

swirling its flavor throughout

then I drain the bag

put in the sugar

I always use sugar

as my Dad used sugar

then a splash of milk

as my Mom splashed milk

then on a cold, rainy day

I sit back, with pencil in hand

sipping tea and writing poetry.

2 thoughts on “Cup of Tea on a Rainy Day

Leave a Reply

