No Poetry Today

I should have wrote a poem today

I did start on a couple of thoughts

but I didn’t get very far with them

my mind was just not ready to work

to try and find those perfect words

that would make it all a poem

one of those clever poems 

that speak to the human condition

and can change the hearts of many

but today, I’m just not there

the words are like roaches

that scatter when the light is shed.

So, I didn’t write a poem today

I sat, I read, I jotted notes

but no poetry was written today.

Leave a Reply

