Buying Beer

I walk into the store

to buy some beer

it’s a favorite place

they have my beer

and they are well stocked

all I want is my beer

small talk is wasted on me

I never did small talk well

and hell is chatting idly 

when all I want is my beer.

Then the cashier

a woman about my age

exclaims, loudly

well, it sounded loud

“Nice haircut.”

I leave with my beer

then it hits me

if I were to do that

exclaim loudly about her

or another woman

I barely know

about their hair

then I’d be labeled sexist

and be forced to recant

and I’m thinking this carrying beer

which is what I wanted

but with the beer I got commentary

on the pitfalls of language

and who gets to call who what

as I head on home

and have a couple of beers.

Leave a Reply

