Confidence

Write a poem about confidence

when I feel less than confident

about what I write in the first place.

Here I sit, knowing it’s all shit

but still, I continue to write

there is no confidence here

only an old man, late to this

who isn’t one of the best 

but is stuck with a head full

of random words and phrases

that might make me a Jeopardy champ

if only I could push that button

but that takes confidence 

and when you get as old as I have

confidence is being able to pee

without dripping it onto your pants.

Leave a Reply

