Faith’s Journey

Early morning as I sit here

I look at the Scripture

Paul writing to Timothy

contemplating his last days

“I have fought the good fight,

I have finished the race,

I have kept the faith”

My own heart is tired

as I read these words

I see that the journey 

is far from the finish

the race continues

and I hold on to faith.

Even as I walked today

as the wind raged 

blowing brown leaves

down empty streets

even in the maelstrom

of the season we live today

I continue to hold on to faith

knowing that grace abides

that when this race is done

and I am once again dust

my poor words will live on

in the hearts of those I love.

Leave a Reply

