Last Night

Again my sleep was fitful

tossing side to side

my mind working 

trying to find answers

laying there in the dark

the only light

the glimmer of numbers

that count out the minutes

of another long night.

Visions play out

on the walls of my mind

yet no answers are there

only shattered pieces 

of what was and not what is.

Outside the moon

shines alabaster white

shedding its light

on the landscape

coloring it a cold gray

that only highlights

the deep dread I have

in these dark hours.

Soon the sun will rise

the new day will begin

but for now I just lay here

my poor prayers ascending

into the darkened room

seeking answers not there.

Leave a Reply

