Follow Me

Follow me,

it’s all they heard

Follow me,

and they stood up

dropping nets

as if they became hot

turning their backs

on the lake

turning faces

into the dust.

What did they expect?

Fame and fortune

a better life

an easier time

instead of hauling

wet, heavy nets

filled with fish

that needed selling.

Follow me,

hearing that voice

calling within

into another life.

Follow me,

into the woundedness

into those places

of disillusionment

Follow me,

to the tomb

to tread the path

carrying that cross

the heavy burden

of the pain you see

into the emptiness

of the human heart.

Follow me,

into abundant life. 

Leave a Reply

