Batter My Heart (Apologies to John Donne)

John Donne wrote so long ago,

“Batter my heart, three person’d God.”

Batter my heart, I ask the same.

Too many walls I have built.

A frame solid to keep loves light,

from shining in there.

Oh, batter my heart, God of love.

Let me know, of loves intensity.

Break down my false, sense of self.

Help me to see your glorious image,

in all creation, to carry the Cross I bear,

it’s burden made light by your love.

Guide my heart, to be open to thee.

To know of your grace to one such as me. 

Leave a Reply

