Poetry 101

 Saturday morning I will be attending a Grub Street workshop appropriately titled, “Poetry 101.” I say appropriately, because I’ve been trying my hand at writing poems and have posted a few on my blog. To be honest, I have no idea what I’m doing and for those, who may have read some of them and are accomplished poets, probably cringe reading them. Yet, I’m kind of having fun and am now hoping that this one day workshop will help me as I continue to learn more about poetry.  

As with any writing, whether it’s nonfiction, fiction, essay, poetry or any one of the genres, you can only get better if you take chances and read. I receive several poetry newsletters through email, have bought several books of poetry, as well as reading novels and articles, all in my effort to understand the craft. Today I received an ebook of quotes designed to inspire and one that caught my eye was this, 

“Mere literary talent is common; what is rare is endurance, the continuing desire to work hard at writing.” 

— Donald Hall

 I know that I don’t have a great amount of “literary talent” but I do have endurance. If anything, what I have learned in my life is to be tenacious, to bend but not to break. I will continue to write, I will continue to expose my inner self through my words, whether they are six word pieces, or poorly written poems, no matter I will write. This may sound a bit strange to some, but deep down I feel called to write, that there is a still small voice that urges me forward as well as outward. 

Leave a Reply

