Middle Child

I’m sort of the middle child,

the one between the others,

a child seeking a place,

where he can make his own.

I was in the middle,

between the living and dead.

It was a place where darkness,

overcame light, where the middle

was more of a muddle,

and the bedroom remained shut.

I was too young to understand,

too full of life to worry,

yet, I still could not enter.

I remain that middle child,

still between the dark and light,

swinging on the emotions,

of those darkened bedroom days.

Just now finding myself, 

where I have been all along,

in the words of a poem,

in the depths of my soul.

Leave a Reply

